The total land holding of the University is about 55 hectares which cover some 45 hectares of land in the campuses that stretch along the north-western slopes of Hong Kong Island, and 10 hectares in the New Territories for the Kadoorie Centre. The University has a total gross floor area of about 715,000 square metres for teaching, research, office accommodation, amenities and residential purposes.

The Main Campus of the University situates in the Bonham Road and Pokfulam area and accommodates five of the ten faculties, namely Architecture, Business and Economics, Education, Engineering and Science, as well as the Main Library, Fung Ping Shan Library, and the Tin Ka Ping Education Library. A major building programme which began in the 1970s has seen the construction of many modern buildings on the Main Campus. These buildings stand adjacent to several retained older buildings (including the Main Building which dates from 1912) that have been preserved because of their historic and architectural merits.

In 2012, the University completed a major extension immediately to the west of the Main Campus – the Centennial Campus. The new campus, located against an attractive backdrop of tree-clad hillsides, is served by a Mass Transit Railway station and provides academic buildings, recreational facilities and other modern amenities. It houses the Faculties of Arts, Law and Social Sciences, Lui Che Woo Law Library, Music Library, with a state-of-the-art Learning Commons, a Grand Hall, and teaching and learning spaces.

The Sassoon Road Campus situated 3 kilometres to the southwest of Main Campus mainly houses the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine in two buildings, namely the William M.W. Mong Block and the Laboratory Block, providing facilities for pre-clinical teaching, clinical research and library services at the Yu Chun Keung Medical Library. Clinical teaching facilities are based in the Queen Mary Hospital which is one of the University’s teaching hospitals. Other teaching and research facilities in the Sassoon Road area include the School of Chinese Medicine, the School of Public Health, the Jockey Club Building for Interdisciplinary Research, as well as the premises for Laboratory Animal Unit and other supporting facilities.

The Faculty of Dentistry has its clinical teaching facilities and the Dental Library in the Prince Philip Dental Hospital in Sai Ying Pun, a short distance to the north of the Main Campus.

Student residential accommodation is provided in a limited form on the Main Campus while the bulk of the accommodation is situated further south along Pokfulam Road, on Sassoon Road and Lung Wah Street.

Sports facilities are provided at Flora Ho and Lindsay Ride Sports Centres, mainly indoors, with the University's major sports fields being located in the Stanley Ho Sports Centre on Sha Wan Drive in the Sandy Bay area with provisions for athletics, softball, soccer, hockey and lacrosse, together with a 50-metre outdoor swimming pool and tennis courts.

Other parts of the University's estates include the Kadoorie Centre which occupies about 10 hectares of land in the New Territories, and the Swire Institute of Marine Sciences located on the south coast of Hong Kong Island.

The University is a smoke-free campus. There is a total smoking ban, both indoors and outdoors.

back to top